School Governors
The School Governors have overall responsibility for the running of the School working alongside the Head Teacher.
The Governing Body of St Joseph's consists of 8 Foundation Governors, 4 of whom are appointed by the Bishop of Derby and 4 appointed by the Bishop of Hallam. There are 2 Parent Governors, 1 Local Authority Governor and representatives from teaching and non-teaching members of staff.
All governors are subject to scrutiny by OFSTED whenever the school is inspected. The governors are responsible for overseeing progress and the maintenance of standards in the education of our children. We act as "critical friends" of the school, questioning and challenging school policies and practice whilst sharing corporate responsibility for these things with the Head Teacher and the senior management team. Of course, not all of us have direct experience of working in education, however training is provided by those who have the skills and professional knowledge as part of the development of the members of the Governing Body.  The Head Teacher and the staff work extremely hard to fulfil the expectations of both Government and parents by providing a safe and inspiring environment for our children's education.  It is a privilege for all of us to be part of this team.
Although it may seem a daunting commitment to be a school governor, I can assure you that it can be a very rewarding experience.  Some governors have more time to involve themselves in the day-to-day running of the school, including attending courses, helping with reading or school activities. There is no expectation on any governor to give more time that they are able, as long as anyone has the best interests of the School at heart. A list of Governors can be found below.
On behalf of the Governing Body I would like to thank you for your support to the school, the care and education of the children in our school is paramount.
Sheila Godley
Chair of Governors

Who are our Governors?

Chair of Governors: Mr Dave Stokes, Catholic Foundation Governor.

Vice Chair: Mr Peter Davison, Catholic Foundation Governor

Mrs Paula Lowry,  Headteacher 

Mrs Sheila Godley, Catholic Foundation Governor

Mrs Mary Binns, Catholic Foundation Governor

Revd Stephen Jones, Church of England Foundation Governor

Mrs Ruth Sedgwick, Church of England Foundation Governor

 Ms Clare Sargent, Parent Governor

Miss Ema Reader, Parent Governor

Mrs Laura Wilkins, Parent Governor

Mrs Pat Hone, Non teaching representative

Mr Paul Eyre, Church of England Foundation Governor

Vacancy; Church of England Foundation Governor



Karen White, Clerk to Governors



How do we contact the Governing Body?

We do not give out personal addresses for our Governors so we ask that all correspondence is given to the school office addressed to the Chair. 


Register of Business Interests